Learn everything you need to know about worker's compensation insurance in Virginia.
Need coverage now? Low rates & same-day quotes available. Select your industry to get started.
We’re available when you are – online and on your schedule. In less than 5 minutes, you could be on your way to a work comp quote.
Our proprietary online quoting tool makes it easy. Just answer a few simple questions about your business.
As an independent agency, we can shop around our network of carriers, and deliver the best quote to you.
Every policy backed by leading insurance carriers known for their financial strength and customer service. All our carriers have earned a rating of A or higher by A.M. Best.
Since 2012, WorkCompOne has helped thousands of small businesses get the coverage they need to stay in compliance and protect their employees.
It's work comp, simplified for small business. Our online platform allows top national carriers to serve all businesses – even those with less than 10 employees.
Workers' compensation laws in Virginia require employers to carry workers’ compensation insurance if they have two or more employees. This includes full-time, part-time, seasonal or temporary workers, minors, trainees, immigrants and family members.
Workers’ compensation protects employees hurt on the job by covering medical expenses, rehabilitation costs and lost wages.
Subcontractors’ employees are also included when counting the total number of employees. Unlike some states, this applies regardless of whether the subcontractor has workers’ comp coverage for its employees.
Executive officers may reject coverage, but they must give proper notice to the employer and the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission.
Virginia workers' compensation rates are among the lowest in the nation, paying less than $1.50 per $100 in payroll, according to a 2018 report by the Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services. The state ranked 41st in the U.S. for workers’ compensation cost.
Like many states, Virginia uses the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) to collect workplace data and set rates. NCCI collects loss, premium and payroll data, and recommends rates. Rates are set by class code, or industry. This base rate is multiplied by company payroll, and then Experience Modifier and other discounts may be applied by an insurance carrier to calculate workers' compensation insurance prices.
Learn More: How Much Is Workers' Comp Insurance?
We've made it easy. Answer a few simple questions about your business, employees and payroll.
Receive an online quote from one of our top-rated carriers. all rated A or higher by A.M. Best.
Some policies can be purchased online that same day — for near-instant coverage.
Virginia has a private market. Businesses can purchase a workers' comp policy from any insurance carrier or agency that is licensed to write in that state. In addition to purchasing through a Virginia workers' compensation insurance companies, group insurance and self-insurance are also allowed.
If you’re still having trouble finding coverage, you can contact NCCI, which operates Virginia’s assigned risk pool and will place you with a carrier.
Virginia does not have reciprocity with any other states, so coverage in another state may not apply if employees cross state lines into Virginia to perform work, unless you have an all states endorsement on your policy.
Premiums vary based on business size, location, industry and claims history. Find out the average small business work comp premium and how much you might pay.
Our quick guide to what small business owners need to know about Virginia coverage, requirements and how to purchase a policy for the first time.
How much for a small business policy? Read on for a step-by-step explanation, along with other factors at play in your final workers’ compensation quote.