We’re available when you are – online and on your schedule. In less than 5 minutes, you could be on your way to a work comp quote.
Our proprietary online quoting tool makes it easy. Just answer a few simple questions about your business.
As an independent agency, we can shop around our network of carriers, and deliver the best quote to you.
Every policy backed by leading insurance carriers known for their financial strength and customer service. All our carriers have earned a rating of A or higher by A.M. Best.
Since 2012, WorkCompOne has helped thousands of small businesses get the coverage they need to stay in compliance and keep their employees safe.
It's work comp, simplified for small business. Our online platform allows top national carriers to serve all businesses – even those with less than 10 employees.
Texas is the only state in the country that does not require employers to carry workers’ compensation insurance.
Texas is unique in that employers are not required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Limited exceptions to this rule may include:
Texas employers who do not carry workers’ compensation insurance coverage are required to report their non-coverage status and must still report any work-related injuries and occupational diseases to the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation.
Employers must also notify their employees that they do not provide work comp insurance. Employers can receive fines from the state for not complying with annual reporting requirements.
Employers that opt-out of the state workers’ compensation system are called non-subscribers. Non-subscribers are not penalized by the state for not carrying coverage, but can be at risk for greater liability if a worker is injured.
Workers’ compensation insurance limits the employer’s liability for work-related injuries, and opting into workers’ compensation legally limits the amount and type of compensation that an injured employee may receive. Non-subscribers are exposed to nearly unlimited damages and legal fees, if a worker brings a personal injury lawsuit against the company.
Texas workers’ compensation system reforms, including health care networks, advocacy and resources for safer workplaces, have focused on reducing costs and improving worker care. As a result, premiums have fallen by 63% since 2005, according to the Texas Department of Insurance – Division of Workers’ Compensation (TDI-DWC).
Texas workers’ compensation rates are recommended by the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI), which most states use as their rating bureau. NCCI collects data on workplace injuries and advises rates based on class code, or industry classification. Texas just moved to using NCCI in 2014.
NCCI reports that the average premium for each $100 of payroll dropped from $2.32 in 2003 to $0.86 in 2015.
Fewer claims and injuries suggest that Texas workplaces are becoming safer, and lower rates have incentivized more employers to carry workers’ compensation insurance.
Meanwhile, critics of the opt-out system argue that by allowing employers to offer their own program for injured workers, larger companies in particular are able to get away with lower benefits and limited oversight.
For a small business, Texas workers’ compensation insurance will vary in cost based on payroll, industry and claims history. Learn more about how much workers' compensation costs.
We've made it easy. Answer a few simple questions about your business, employees and payroll.
Receive an online quote from one of our top-rated carriers. All rated A or higher by A.M. Best.
Some policies can be purchased online that same day — for near-instant coverage.
Texas has a private market. You can purchase a workers' compensation policy from any insurance carrier or agency that is licensed by the Texas Department of Insurance.
Small businesses must comply with the state where employees perform work, regardless of where the business was founded or is based. If your business operates in multiple states, or employees travel across state lines to work, you may need to modify your policy to guarantee coverage. Non-subscribers might still need coverage for out-of-state employees or work.
Commercial insurance carriers must be licensed by Texas to bind work comp policies in the state. WorkCompOne has a network of top-rated carriers for small business work comp insurance.
Self-insuring or joining self-insuring groups are also options, typically for larger employers, as long as the self-insured parties meet state requires and are certified.
If you’re having trouble getting a workers’ compensation policy, contact Texas Mutual Insurance Company. Texas Mutual is the workers compensation insurer of last resort, and will provide coverage to higher-risk businesses.
In Texas, insurance companies that offer workers' compensation insurance are required to provide accident prevention services to policyholders at no additional charge. Contact your insurance carrier to see what services or programs they offer.
The Texas Department of Insurance also provides resources to help keep workplaces safe. The Occupational Safety and Health Consultation Program (OSHCON) helps employers understand and comply with OSHA requirements, and teaches them how to maintain safe workplaces.
Premiums vary based on business size, location, industry and claims history. Find out the average small business work comp premium and how much you might pay.
Workers’ compensation law can be confusing and complicated. This guide outlines what you need to know to buy work comp insurance.
How much for a small business policy? Read on for a step-by-step explanation, along with other factors at play in your final workers’ compensation quote.